Rigging101 » Rigging128

MEL help (12 posts)

About This Topic

Tags

No tags yet.

1. kitagawa

Posted 7 years ago
    #

Hey everyone. My first post here, I'm just getting into rigging though, so I'll probably be posting here quite a bit from now on.

SO... I have a locator, and a sphere in my scene. I'm trying to write an expression that will make the sphere constantly travel towards the locator. And depending on the distance between the locator and the sphere, the speed at which the sphere is traveling will change.

So, when the sphere is really close to the locater, it will very slowly creep towards the locator. But when the locator is moved far away the speed of the sphere will ramp up, until it hits a max speed.

Hope this isn't too complicated. I've been toying around for hours trying to get it to work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

2. mzahmbie

Posted 7 years ago
    #

You could calculate the vector between the ball and the locator in the expression and then use the direction of the vector to always move the ball towards or away from the locator. With that you could then use the length of the vector to derive the speed. When the vector length is small the ball is close to the locator, the larger it gets the further away the ball is.

This should get you going in the right direction,(no pun intended!) if you'd like I'd be happy to elaborate on how this would be written as well.

3. kitagawa

Posted 7 years ago
    #

Alright, first off. What's the vector? I'm really new to all this rigging stuff.
    If you could help show me how it's written, that would be great. I think I have a pretty decent idea on how to do what I want to do. I just don't know any of the coding to get it done.

Thanks

4. kitagawa

Posted 7 years ago
    #

nvm, I found out what vectors in Maya are. Still no idea how I'd calculate it though...

5. mzahmbie

Posted 7 years ago
    #